top of page
  • UNpopular Style Magazine | LaKenya Norris

Ceyair J. Wright Takes On Hollywood In Space Jam 2 And Cornerback At USC.




Editor: Congratulations on the successful release and box numbers for “Space Jam: A New Legacy” What have you enjoyed most about the entire experience? As a college athlete, what does it mean to you to work alongside LeBron James, one of the most famous athletes in the world? As a global sports icon and businessman, what have you learned from him that you can use on your own stardom journey?


Ceyair J. Wright: As a college athlete obviously the opportunity to work alongside Lebron is huge. I grew up a Laker fan. My Dad has been taking me to parade's since I was a toddler. To have the opportunity to work alongside Lebron from a professional and personal standpoint is something I will not forget. Before having the opportunity to know him personally I always felt as if he had unjust criticism based on all the great things he has done not just as an athlete, but in his community besides basketball. Once I had the opportunity to work with him and know him the things we would discuss regarding work ethic, decision making, taking care of your body, to name a few were very meaningful to me also just to see how he interacted with his family, friends and individuals on set he is genuinely a great person. I was impressed how he took his acting role very seriously. I had the opportunity to Learn several things from Lebron, but I would say that regardless of the iconic figure he is, how he treated everyone cool with the utmost respect. Also even though he would be on-set for sometimes 12-14 hours a day. He always made it a priority to train and workout. He still reminds me of that when we speak, always try and get better and work hard for your goals.




How have you balanced both being a college student and starring in a box office hit? Has anything changed about your everyday life?


Balancing being a college student has been an adjustment since we just recently started school. Even the small things just navigating through the campus of USC my first day and getting lost was an adventure. Due to Covid I was not as familiar with the campus because it had been shut down . During the weeks leading up to the premiere things were really hectic with press and appearances but fortunately I was able to go to football practice and workouts, but the few instances I had to miss my coaches were very supportive. Since then things have fallen into place. I will sometimes receive a double look or hear someone say that's Ceyair the Space Jam kid he plays football here, but other than that everyday is fine. I've been acting and playing sports most of my life so I have always approached it like this is my life and to be honest it would be different if I was not balancing multiple things.




Now onto fashion, how would you describe your everyday look or style?


I'd say I have pretty good style, over the past few years I started to take my style a lot more seriously. I used to only enjoy shopping for and collecting shoes but as I've gotten older I've begun to have a much stronger interest in clothing as well. I like designers Grayscale image and Richfresh who I wore on the red carpet. I often go to trading posts with my friends to find some cool stuff. being a athlete you often find yourself in sweats or what's most comfortable, but i love a pair of new tennis shoes, some nice jeans and a expressive T-shirt or hoodie.


We see you've grown your hair out, much different look than the film, what sparked the change?


Recently I've grown my hair out because while in high school I had to cut my hair every year as part of our tradition to play on the football team at Loyola High School. I/ve always wanted to grow my hair out to be able to try new looks with it. Once I graduated and had the chance I took it. Funny story in summer of 2019 while filming Space Jam I was not allowed to cut my hair based on my contract prior to football season. Therefore I grew it out for a short time during that time period. I actually felt bad that all my teammates had short hair and I had longer hair.


When shopping, what are your must-haves?

When shopping for shoes which are a must have, I always have my phone with me to compare prices to see if I can find a steal


Music can be a great way to get focused. Which artists get you pumped for a game or to attack the day?

Music I am a huge Michael Jackson fan so anything by him will have me ready to take on the world




We hear you were in music video at the age of 4? What video was that? And can we possibly see you do more cameos?


My first acting gig was in a music video for a band called "The White Stripes" . The video was for their song "My Doorbell" . If I had an opportunity to be in another music video I would definitely take it. Recently my two good friends Ron and Marcellus who I record music with directed a video of a cover song we did called Japanese Denim by Daniel Cesar.


You have a bright future ahead of you. If you had it all your way, where do you see yourself in the next 5 years, what's the goal?


In the next five years I plan to continue to be a Dual Threat by taking acting and football as far as I can take it. With hard work hopefully it takes me to a NFL team as well as an award winning actor. I'm not gonna place any limits on myself, because I never have. I realize I'm blessed to be in my position.


Assuming you may love acting, any particular type of role you would love to play or audition for?

I have always loved action so of course I have some dream roles. The idea of playing a superhero has always stood out to me. I'm a huge comic book fan so playing Miles Morales or Static from "Static Shock" would be a dream come true.




What can your supporters expect next, how can they support you?

In terms of the future in the Next few months besides playing my first college football game which happens this Saturday September 4, 2021 at the Coliseum against San Jose State I'm getting hyped just thinking about that, I will be wearing the #2.


Overtime SZN in which I was the first college athlete to sign a NIL deal with, will be airing a docuseries in October called "Dual Threat" about my life. I will be dropping my first single in a few weeks called "What Do I Say" it will be on all music platforms


In the process of developing a podcast called "What my Cause" look out for it will be great filled with amazing content


Follow Ceyair J. Wright: @ceyair




0 comments
bottom of page