top of page
  • UNpopular Style Magazine | LaKenya Norris

Christian Convery Takes His Career To The Next Level In Netflix "Sweet Tooth" And "Cocaine Bear"


Editor: Congratulations on the success of Netflix "Sweet Tooth" series and it's second

season renewal. Did you anticipate how well it would be received by

audiences? It seems to have a cult-like following.


Christian Convery: It’s mind blowing how amazing “Sweet Tooth” did on Netflix! I love hearing the responses from my friends and family and all the amazing “Sweet Tooth” fans

around the world! What’s even crazier is how we are renewed for season 2. I can’t

wait to go back to New Zealand and to start filming “Sweet Tooth” season 2!


What have you enjoyed most about working with Robert Downey Jr.?

Any take-aways you can use throughout your career journey?


I loved working with Robert Downey Jr.! He has been a tremendous support

to me, our fellow cast and the entire creative process over the past 2 years!

Robert and his wife Susan are incredibly warm, funny and just amazing! They

inspire me to be the best I can each day on set!



Without giving too much away, how will your 'Gus' develop season 2, comic book differences or something viewers may be surprised by?


Although I have read Jeff Lemire’s Deluxe Edition Book 2, there isn’t much I can say

because they have kept that a big secret from all of us! What I do know for sure

though is, will Gus and the other Hybrids escape?


Now onto fashion, we know you're young and developing your personal style, but what about do you like wearing most or favorite purchase items?


I really do enjoy dressing up for events, shows, parties, awards and dinners. At the

same time, I also love the summer casual beach look when I’m just relaxing. Thom

Browne recently sent me a really cool suit that I’m digging, it’s the photo with the

grey suit.



Your hair is one noticeable physical trait and unique look about you, any specific maintenance for a longer hairstyle?


For the most part, I don’t do much and just let my hair be which helps with my

summer casual beach look. It’s certainly more of a challenge if I’m going out

as I need someone to do my hair.


We know you love nature, you're licensed in Padi Scuba Diving and Junior Lifeguard. If you weren't acting, would you consider a career in outdoor activities?


I wouldn’t do a career out of it as I just love doing all these sports for fun. To pursue the

outdoors, the activities and travelling to different countries and learning as

much as I can, is certainly one of my passions that I will do for the rest of my

life! One of my goals, as I do enjoy math and numbers, is the idea of creating

multiple business within various sectors that I would own.


How well can you play the guitar? If you had to play one song to entertain, what would it be?

My go to favorite song to play is ‘Time of Your Life’ by Green Day! I love it because it

feels like a campfire-y song!



You've been casted in the new film "Cocaine Bear" how do you feel about the new opportunity? When do you start filming?


I am thrilled to be taking part in Cocaine Bear! We have an unbelievable cast and in

addition to that Elizabeth Banks is directing us at the helm of it all! It’s incredible! I’m

not sure on my exact start date yet but I know I leave for Ireland really soon!



You've been fortunate to have a lengthy resume at such a young age, with so much ahead of you, have you thought about a ‘Dream Project’ yet? Who would you like to work with or the type of project you’d like to be a part of?


I have been fortunate to work with so many amazing actors and incredible directors

so far and I have cherished each moment and tried to elevate myself as an actor and

learn as much as possible. Right now, what I’m most excited for is for working with

the cast of “Cocaine Bear!” One of my other goals in the future is to learn how to

produce, direct, start a production company and maybe even right my own script!


Follow Christian Convery: @christianconvery

0 comments
bottom of page