top of page
  • UNpopular Style Magazine | LaKenya Norris

Maintain Healthy And Happy Living With Conscious Entrepreneur Sophie Jaffe



If you're in need of optimism during this unpredictable year, Lifestyle and Wellness guru - Sophie Jaffe has got you covered. In an exclusive Q&A, the successful business owner shares tips and recipes to keep you and your loved ones active and healthy.



What least expected exercises can be helpful to build body strength?


You’d be surprised by how much muscle and body strength yoga can build - it’s SO much more than flexibility and stretching! I’ve tried all different kinds of yoga styles, from Kundalini to Hatha to power to yin, and really loved the mind/body connection they created. Pilates is also a fantastic way to tone and build strength using muscles that often don’t get used throughout your day. My favorite way to build strength and endurance in the most efficient way is through HIIT workouts. A good HIIT session can blast calories, boost your cardio capacity, strengthen your core, upper and lower body and challenge your coordination and balance.


Home exercises are important now since many gyms are limited, which ones can be done?

There are so many ways to get a really great workout in at home and one of the coolest things I’ve seen to come out of the pandemic is how creative people are getting with workouts and the wide variety of online offerings available to you. You can easily roll out your yoga mat and put on an online class through YouTube or even with me! I think it’s important to listen to what your body intuitively needs especially when we’re facing so many changes in our outside world. A home “exercise” could be as simple as going on a walk around your neighborhood or a high-intensity virtual class. As a mama, I have to get creative and do workouts with my littles or involve them by creating an obstacle course in our backyard. Whatever you can do to keep your body moving in a way that feels good to you. Some of my favorite online virtual classes include Melissa Wood Health and Livekick (I teach intuitive yoga once a month via this platform here: Livekick.com/sophie).




What foods would you recommend to help boost your immune system during this time of infectious virus spread?

Keeping my body well-nourished and balanced has kept me strong and adaptable. Whether it’s my daily water full of chlorophyll (supports blood flow to the lungs and is a powerful detoxifier) or a quick spoonful of raw supercharged honey to keep my immunity up — I’m so grateful I’ve built strong grounding practices so I can continue to show up each day as my most vibrant self.


Here are some of my favorite immunity tips:

A spoonful of raw superfood honey a day keeps the flu away! The moment you feel a scratchy throat, try Philosophie Green Bee Honey or Berry Bee Honey (loaded with extra vitamin C) to lubricate the throat and boost your immune system with superfoods and adaptogens to heal you quickly.



High Vibrational + Alkalizing Nourishment. The food we eat is our first form of defense, medicine and support. 80% of our immune cells are in the gut so by strengthening gut health you boost immunity. When you choose whole, real foods you are supporting your whole health. I fuel my body with smoothies, salads, broths, grains, veggies and superfoods (the most efficient + effective way to restore the body) every day.


A few of my favorite superfoods for immunity and support:

Acai, Goji berry and Camu Camu

These are all exotic fruits that are extremely high in vitamin C and A, giving them lots of antioxidant superpowers. Antioxidants help prevent aging and disease by combating the effects of oxidation in our body tissues. Camu Camu is a small red berry that grows in the Peruvian jungle, and has the highest vitamin C content of any fruit on the entire planet – over 20 times the C found in two pounds of oranges (wow)! You’ll find that these superfoods come in many forms including powders, pills and frozen. All can be added to juices, smoothies, or even added to oats or yogurt. You can also get all three of these superfoods in a powder blend, such as the Philosophie Berry Bliss powder.


Reishi mushroom

One of the most important Chinese herbs, reishi helps the body adapt to stress, improves the immune system and helps heal from illness. You can take reishi daily in pill form, or add it to smoothies or tonics.



Distance Learning may be permanent for many kids now, what healthy, but enjoyable foods can parents prepare for their children to keep them focused and excited for each day?

Smoothies have been my go-to with my kiddos since they were little! It’s so easy to sneak in organic fruit and veggies and making it still a sweet and delicious treat for your kiddos to enjoy. When the weather is warm I like to make a huge batch of smoothies and pour them into popsicle molds for my kids to enjoy by the pool. We make each mealtime a fun, enjoyable experience to help energize them and motivate them for the day ahead. A full day at school means both my boys need lots of nourishing and energizing lunches and snacks to power them through the whole day. I love making a rainbow of options because the kids get excited at lunchtime and it also helps to build a foundation of healthy habits. Eat colors, not calories!




You have your own line of coconut butter and honey. If you could name the biggest differences between your products and other what would they be, what sets Philosophie a part?

Philosophie products include our signature superfood and protein blends made from whole, live, nutrient-dense foods which include: Cacao Magic, Berry Bliss and Green Dream. The Philosophie superfood + protein blends are all vegan, raw, gluten-free, and have absolutely no filler ingredients. There is no other superfood, plant-based protein blend that contains NO added sugar. These blends contain nothing but the purest, most healing ingredients. We also have supercharged raw honey and superfood cacao coconut butter which includes the same ingredients from our plant-based proteins blended with supercharged raw honey or organic coconut butter.


I have poured my entire self into creating and breathing life into these products. I’m so blessed to experience the growth of my business into a company that touches the lives of thousands. It’s a small run operation but I have an amazing team that works tirelessly to help me create, package and distribute these products. I always add my own personal touch and love to every product we create. We recently created a seasonal superfood blend and added Liquid Sunshine Chlorophyll Drops to our shop both of which were created on what I nourish my body within my own life and felt the need to share the magic with my Philosophie community.



Halloween is approaching, many are brainstorming how to make the holiday fun and tasty indoors. Give us a go-to festive recipe you have available?

We have so many delicious treats and sweets on the Philosophie blog. I have a MAJOR sweet tooth and love to bake healthy desserts using cacao and nut butter in baked goods like freezer fudge, cupcakes, or cookies.




Start your day with this spicy, immunity-boosting Boo Berry Smoothie!

Ingredients:


Directions:

Blend all ingredients well until smooth + top with bee pollen! ENJOY!




Skip the candy and make this decadent Pumpkin Protein Freezer Fudge!

Ingredients:

½ cup pumpkin

2 tbsp Berry Bliss Superfood + Protein Blend (you could also use Cacao Magic for more of a rich chocolate flavor)

½ cup almond flour

Chocolate chips (for melting)


Do This:

In a food processor, combine the pumpkin, Berry Bliss, almond flour and Fall Vibes.

Use a parchment-lined baking dish or silicone ice cube trays to form the fudge.

Freeze overnight.

Melt chocolate and drizzle on top.

Freeze to set!

Store in the fridge or freezer! ENJOY!



Keep up with all things Sophie Jaffe at

0 comments
bottom of page