top of page
  • Writer's pictureUNpopular Style Music

Platinum Recording Artist Donell Jones Returns To Music, What R&B Is Missing, And Verzuz.



LaKenya Norris: Congratulations on your return and release of New Single "Karma (Payback)” Please share the inspiration behind this track and what made you go with it as the

first single?


Donell Jones: Well, the original song is called “Payback Is A Dog” that was recorded by

“The Stylistics.” I’ve always loved that song and always wanted to flip it. I remember one

night I had a dream about it and the next morning I immediately started recreating the

track. After I got the music done, the melody came and then the words. However, the

song is about realizing that some people never change and ultimately finding true love

within yourself.


Your album title “100% FREE” has been said to be inspired by letting go of

‘self-sabotage’, negativity, and unhealthy habits, so now that you are ‘free’ how

are you approaching music and your career differently today?


From this point on, I’m moving with the flow of life and whatever feels good to me is

what I’m going to do. I’m here to experience life and add to this beautiful existence.



Who did you work with on the album and when is the slated release date?


This album is a free project and it’s produced and written by me and only because I

didn’t want to ask any of my friends to work for free. I’ve been off the scene for some

years now and when this pandemic hit, I got a strong idea to do something for my fans.

As I was thinking, the thought to do a free album came, and then the title “100% Free”

popped in my head so I went with what I was feeling and here we are.


Many say R&B is not the same as it was when you debuted and before; it’s lost its

true essence. If you will, what is your view on those types of statements?


I will say every era has had a certain sound and I wouldn’t knock the younger guys for

their creative contributions. The only thing I think is that maybe the subject matter could

be better but again that’s just my unpopular opinion. I respect everyone’s creativity and I

think there will be all kinds of music to choose from, we just have to start supporting the

artists we want to hear from.


What has changed about the genre or industry that you don’t favor and what do

you feel has changed for the better?


It is a business and we have to understand that but I’d like to see more ownership from

producers & songwriters as well more artists owning their masters and getting royalties

for their voices being on records.


As a seasoned professional in the music industry- music is always evolving, how

do you maintain your place with an audience that now seems to expect quantity

over quality?


I’m just used to doing things a certain way and somethings I can adapt to like maybe

putting out more music than I have in the past but for me, it has to be quality over

quantity.


As a noted songwriter, during your “hiatus” from solo artistry, is there any record

or projects from another artist you've worked with within the last 7 years that

people would be surprised to know about?


I met Jaquees a few years back and he wanted me to listen to an album he was working

on and when I listened to it, I thought it was pretty dope; but he said he was missing

something that sounded like my music, so he asked would I make him a song and we

recorded “23” that debuted on his first album 4275.


You’ve been watching the notorious Verzuz battles right? Who has been your

favorite thus far and who would you like to see participate?

My favorites were Snoop & Dmx... I’d love to see LL Cool J do a Verzuz!


Photography by: Philippe Bertrand

Follow Donell Jones @DonellJones and visit www.donelljonesmusic.com for the latest.

0 comments
bottom of page