top of page
  • UNpopular Style Magazine | LaKenya Norris

Actress And Activist: Malia Baker Of Babysitter's Club, Are You Afraid Of The Dark Is One To Watch

Updated: May 19, 2021



Editor: Congrats on the successful 2nd season of Netflix’s “The Baby-Sitters Club", What do you enjoy most about the show and the natural-like camaraderie between castmates?


Malia Baker: Thank you so much! That's a tough question because quite honestly every little thing about the show I absolutely love. From my amazing friends on and off camera, to what topics we touch on the series and more. I think my favorite thing is the people I have the good fortune of working with. They all teach me so much and I am so grateful to have them in my life.



Your character- Mary Anne has such a rich storyline that many can relate to, in what

ways can you personally relate?


Mary Anne is a very relatable character to kids, teens, and parents! Mary Anne and I have a lot in common, like our anxiety, our love for kids, our fantastic friends, and that we lead in our own way!



Are You Afraid of the Dark has a cult-like following, how familiar are you with the original seasons from the 90s? What is your favorite episode/tale from the past and now?



AHHH, I loved the original 90s series. I remember watching it and thinking I was so cool to be watching something “so scary.” When I was younger, having watched the original series makes this project even more special, and I am so honored to bring it to the screen for the next generation. My favorite episode from the past is The Tale of The Ghastly Grinner, a very iconic one I know. My favorite from our series is probably episode four (although every one of them brings tears to my eyes, haha)!


As a teenager with a developing style, How would you describe your everyday look, style? Any style obsessions?


I would describe my everyday style as constantly changing. One day I’ll go from wearing a dress, and the other I’ll go to looking like I’m about to go roll in the mud! One style obsession I have is jackets and sneakers, and I love them both so much! Jewelry, specifically rings, always makes it into my outfit too.



As far as physical appearance, your hair is one noticeable thing about you. How do you maintain the full natural look?


Any favorite products for maintenance of your curl pattern? Yes haha! My hair takes a lot of time and effort, but at the end of the day, I feel like it’s totally worth it. My hair reminds me every day to take up space, and I love it. I do my best to keep it as natural as possible. I can’t remember the last time I straightened it. In terms of products, I like to change it up a lot and try new things, but one I have always seemed to go back to is Maui Moisture’s curl quench!


Let’s dig into your music taste, who are your favorite artists?


OK, this is the hardest question yet! Haha My music taste is all over the place, but I feel very grateful for all of the music I have had the pleasure of getting to know and cherish. Music is an essential and almost spiritual thing in my family, so learning about the story behind the song is something I try hard to do. I’ve been listening to a lot to Ella and Louis, The Beatles, Chet Baker, Nina Simone, and loads more for pretty much ever, and they are still in my favorites.



How are you balancing a normal life under pandemic times and new found fame?


I try to stay grounded in anyways that I can and create healthy surroundings for myself with friends, family, and basic self-care necessities, especially through creativity and some fresh air each day. One thing that has helped me is making sure I stay true to myself. Speaking my mind, and being me in that mind, is so incredibly important, and it's something I think we can all use a reminder of from time to another.


What is one fact people may be surprised to learn about you?

People would be surprised to know that I have four pets! Two cats and two dogs, to keep it even ;)


Have you thought about a ‘Dream Project’ yet?


Who would you like to work with or dream role? This is a great question. There are so many things I would love to do in my career, but for now, this is my ultimate dream project - to work with Wes Anderson and Greta Gerwig and to do my first feature film (preferably a thriller, I think)!



You recently shared Instagram content for your support for AAPI, why is it so important to you, to get involved with social justice and philanthropy?


It's so important to me as a young multiracial girl to not only have my peoples' voices heard but to have a full spectrum of peoples' voices heard that aren't like me. We all have a story, valid and worth dignity, mutual respect, and equality. I just happened to have been blessed with an opportunity to have a platform and utilize my platform to advocate for causes that I can that stand within values.


Can you dish on any projects you may be working on next?


I wish I could share, but many exciting things are happening that I can';t wait for you guys to see, so stay tuned!


Photography-Noah Asanias

Stylist -Leila Bani

Makeup- Zabrina Matiru

Hair: Tonia Becker-Hair by Tania Becker for NOBASURA Clubhouse using Oribe.


Follow Malia Baker @maliabakermsb

0 comments
bottom of page