top of page
  • UNpopular Style Magazine | LaKenya Norris

GG Townson Stars In Salt-N-Pepa Biopic, Staying Motivated, And The Key To Her Style

Updated: Jan 29, 2021




Editor: Congrats on landing the role of Cheryl “Salt” James in Lifetime's Salt-N-Pepa biopic. Tell us your initial reaction and thoughts when you were announced as the lead?


GG Townson: Thank you so much. My initial reaction was thinking about what’s going to happen to my everyday life. I was in school at the time and had a full-time job, so just dropping everything is not really my style. My first thought was “okay, how do I navigate this?” But after all of that was figured out, I was like “wow Lifetime really trusts me to lead a movie, I can’t let them down and I can’t let Cheryl down. She trusts me to tell her story and I have to do that with pride and respect.” And I did that.

Without giving too much away, what can fans of the iconic group expect from the biopic? Is there any expected controversy?


They can expect to learn a lot about these two women individually and as group mates. I wouldn’t say controversy per se, but definitely some topics that can create a shock factor.



Tell us more about your experience learning the music verbatim and embodying your role?


My experience with learning the music verbatim was a pretty seamless process because music is something that runs through my family, so it wasn’t hard for me to adapt. I was also very familiar with the group, and even knew the songs prior to going into the audition, so there wasn’t a whole lot of digging deep or tapping into a different element of myself to get the music down. In regards to embodying Cheryl beyond her voice, for me it was paying attention to her mannerisms, how she moved, how she would address certain people, how she would sit during interviews, things like that, and really capturing the essence of who she was as a person. Really understanding the way that her mind works.

Let’s get into fashion, how would you describe your personal style?


My personal style is definitely super laid back and comfortable!


You seem to be very much into fashion and looking your best, name your two fashion “must-haves” and why?


My two must-haves are a great pair of white tennis shoes, Air Force 1’s for me specifically, and a comfortable pair of heels.

You often rock a short haircut, what would you say is the key to the perfect short haircut look? Any specific care products for maintenance?


I would say the key to a perfect short cut is the confidence! Some women don’t feel as sexy with short hair and I get it, it’s not for everyone…but with confidence you can pull anything off! I use wrap lotion for my short hair maintenance.

Considering you come from a musically gifted family with Ron Townson of Fifth Dimension as your grandfather, did you inherit a natural gift as well?


I would say yes I did inherit the gift of music. Which is why I feel like there weren’t many hurdles for me going through the rehearsals and preparing for this film. I’m not saying it was easy, but it just wasn’t hard to understand the musical or performance aspects that went into this film.

The Entertainment industry is tough, hard to break in, especially when representation could be increased in areas. How do you stay optimistic and motivated?


Getting into the mindset of optimism and constant motivation took some work for sure. It’s very easy to get caught up as an actor believing every single role is written for you; at least every role that you audition for I mean. I’m a firm believer in “what’s meant for you is meant for you and nothing can change that.” For example, my first audition for Salt-N-Pepa, I messed up. I thought there was no way that they were going to give me a callback, but once I walked out of the casting office, I released it all. It was no longer on me.

Was there anyone or any specific body of work you saw growing up that inspired or encouraged you to pursue your career? Who gave you hope as an Entertainer?


I wouldn’t say there was one particular body of work that inspired me because I’ve always had a huge imagination, so I was always playing dress up and wanting to entertain my parents and their friends. I never really placed one person in the forefront of my goals. My thought process was just that I wanted to be on the Disney Channel. That’s all I needed…the Disney Channel was everything for me!



What is something you think people would be surprised to know about you?


How goofy I can be at times.

I'm a big fan of CW "All American" series, I hear you will have recurring role on Season 3, I look forward to watching you. Are there any other upcoming projects supporters should look out for or causes you support others can get involved in?


Yes, I am really excited to have been blessed with the opportunity to join this amazing show. Coincidentally I’m playing a music artist as well. I’m currently getting my ducks in a row to pursue a couple passion projects of mine, but nothing to announce just yet. Thanks!


Photographer: Birdie Thompson @birds_eye_photo

Makeup: Anton Khachaturian @antonmakeup with Mac Cosmetics

Hair: Jae Angela @jaeangela_hair

Wardrobe: OTT @ottdubai/ Showroom Maison Privee PR @maisonpriveepr_la


Follow GG Townson: @ggtownson




0 comments
bottom of page