top of page
  • UNpopular Style Magazine | LaKenya Norris

Forbes 30 Under 30 Actress and Director Niki Koss Is Set To Make Her Mark With Multiple Releases



Editor: Congrats on the release of the mystery, thriller Dreamcatcher. How is a slasher film different from the preparation for other roles? Niki Koss: Delving into a character and their backstory essentially follows the same formula regardless of the genre. One thing that I did that was slightly different though was listen to music I thought Pierce would love. Jacob, our director, gave me a playlist of songs I would never normally listen to in real life, but made total sense for my character. The songs were very reminiscent of the music in the movie, which was pretty genre specific.



Tell us more about working with your castmates and how difficult or not production was during a pandemic year? We got pretty lucky with Dreamcatcher in that we were able to shoot it out just in time for the pandemic, so we didn't have to deal with the extra precautions we normally would now. Working with the cast on this film was absolutely incredible. We got along freakishly well. We ended up spending so much time together off set, which ultimately really helped us build chemistry for the film. Honestly, before we even got to day one of shooting they all already knew my deepest, darkest secrets.


Let’s get into fashion, how would you describe your personal style?

I pretty much wear all black every day. Black jeans, black t-shirt and black booty heels. It's easy, sleek and always chíc. Although during quarantine I've practically been living in sweats! It's no secret you have a unique, classic look similar to notable beauties from times past, how do you use this to your advantage? Thank you!! I don't really use it to my advantage, but it's always a nice compliment to receive!

Name your 2 fashion/beauty "must-haves" ? Lipstick and an eyelash curler. The Entertainment industry is tough, hard to break in, especially when representation could be increased in areas. How do you stay optimistic and motivated? It's tough to stay optimistic in an industry that is essentially built on rejection. I think what keeps me so motivated at the end of the day is my passion for my art. I live and breathe filmmaking and I really don't see a world where I could or would do anything else. It's definitely easier to see past the constant rejection when you're doing something you're so madly in love with every day.

Was there anyone or any specific body of work you saw growing up that inspired or encouraged you to pursue your career? Who gave you hope as an entertainer? I was obsessed with Jennifer Lawrence during the initial rise of her career. Not only did I look up to her so much as an actress, but I also loved her specific style of acting. Now I'd say the industry folks that give me hope and inspiration are more along the lines of Greta Gerwig, Olivia Wilde and Phoebe Waller-Bridge.

If you could play anyone dead or alive in a biopic, who would it be? Audrey Hepurn. It's always been a dream of mine.


Tell us more about working as Director for Night Night and is there a set release date? No release date yet, but it will definitely be 2021! It was so incredible working on Night Night. Although I've been directing for almost ten years now, it was my first feature film. Not only was I blessed with such an incredible cast and crew, but the town we shot in was so incredibly supportive as well. I learned so much and I'm ecstatic to start on my next one. We were fan favorites of “Famous In Love”, will you be starring in any series projects in the future?

Hopefully! Right now my focus has been in the feature film world. I just started a production company with several features in development, which has been taking up most of my time. But hopefully there is more television in my near future!

Are there any other ways your supporters can be a part of any charitable causes or outside film work that is dear to you? Share the details. PATH is a charity that I have been working closely with for many, many years. Homelessness is such an important cause to me and I encourage everyone who can to look them up and see what volunteer opportunities they have in their areas. It feels so good to volunteer, it honestly feeds the soul, as cheesy as that sounds. Thank you for this question!


Photography by James Houston


Follow Niki Koss @nikikoss


0 comments
bottom of page